Weekly Insights: Basic tips on Photography

Everyone has looked at a picture on the internet taken by a professional or even with a simple, everyday phone camera and thought “Wow, wonder if I could do that someday”. No? Not everyone? Well, I sure have, on numerous occasions. Thoughts like those have kept me on my track of what I want, which is to improve my skills as a photographer. This is why I decided on doing a photography help post.

Although I’m still a beginner myself, I would like to share with you some of the tips that I’ve figured out and found out throughout the years that will help you improve yourself as a photographer. They’re not that many, but, nevertheless, they really do a wonderful job at helping you achieve a more professional outcome.

  1. Use your surroundings. Instead of adding frames to your photos in Photoshop or any other program, you can easily use your surroundings to create a natural one. For example, if you’re taking a wildlife/ nature/ landscape shot, use the trees, the cars, maybe even the object that you’re capturing as a  frame to your photo. You’d be surprised by the results. Here is one I took using this method.WP_20170528_18_17_17_Pro.jpg
  2. Always keep your camera on you. You almost never know when the opportunity for a great photo will present itself. And when it does, you wouldn’t want to miss it.
  3. And while we’re on the subject of camera keeping, don’t rush into buying any expensive equipment. It’s true that with a professional camera your photos will come out amazing, but that can be achieved with an inexpensive point and shoot. I myself use my phone camera. It might be obvious that I do, but I am quite satisfied at this point with the outcomes.
  4. Experiment. Don’t be afraid to take some risky shots and to SHOW them. You can never be sure of what the world will think. Sometimes you shouldn’t even worry. It’s important that you’re satisfied with the results of your photography. And for that, you have to take some risks. I have found myself kneeling or even lying on the dusty ground for some shots. It’s all worth it in the end, however.
  5. Use leading lines. Another way to take interesting photos is to make use of leading lines that can guide the eye of viewers and help to create intriguing compositions. Leading lines can be easy to find as they are all around us. Things like roads, bridges, tree lines, buildings, and rivers are some of the most commonly-used objects for creating leading lines in photography.
  6. Don’t follow the crowds. You might see large groups of tourists almost everywhere taking photos. Don’t go there. The magic happens in the unknown places. The ones that aren’t tainted by human footsteps. The ones where you can safely enjoy the ambiance the place creates without hearing the loud chitter chatter of people nearby.

There’s a lot of ways that you can create beautiful and captivating photos and the ones listed here don’t even begin to cover them. Be creative. Let go of yourself and get lost in the magic of capturing those gorgeous moments. Until then though, you can enjoy your browsing! 🙂

WP_20170717_06_11_37_Pro

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Insights: Basic tips on Photography

Leave a Reply

